Two evenly matched teams to kick off the world T20

  • The white ferns became runners up in 2009 and 2010 but since then have failed to reach the playoffs stage of the tournament
  • India reached the semi-finals in 2009 and 2010 but they too have had a dismal time after that
  • The two teams have not played a T20 International match since July 2015

New Zealand women’s cricket team is expected to defeat the Indian women’s cricket team and get their world T20 campaign off to a winning start


The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 championship for the year 2018 starts on the 9th of November with the ladies from New Zealand set to take on the ladies from India. The match will be played at the Providence Stadium in Guyana and this will be a Group B encounter. Both teams will be eager to get the campaigns off to a winning start and would be going all out to record a win. Our cricket bet prediction is that New Zealand would get the better of India and record their 1st win of the tournament.


New Zealand and India have always been two evenly matched teams and this time also is no different. The two teams have played 7 T20I matches in the past. New Zealand has won 5 of them while India has emerged victorious on 2 occasions. New Zealand women have played 24 T20 International matches since 2009 and have won 18 of them. In contrast, India, has played 21 matches winning just 9 and losing 12 matches. New Zealand has been one of the favorites to win the cup over the years but India undoubtedly is the most improved outfit. New Zealand women are currently ranked 2nd in the world while Indian women’s team are 5th according to the latest ICC T20 team rankings.


A look at the Indian team

The Indian women’s cricket team has improved tremendously under head coach Ramesh Powar. The T20 side is captained by the dynamic right-handed middle-order batswoman, Harmanpreet Kaur. Kaur showed what she is capable of during a swashbuckling inning of 171 during the champion’s trophy tournament in England in a 50-over match. We could see India posting a mammoth total if she achieves the same sort of heights with the bat.


22-year-old left-handed opening batswoman Smriti Mandhana who is now a veteran in the side is expected to open the batting for India with the 21-year-old Deepti Sharma. Both are accomplished 50-over batswoman with Mandhana having scored 1602 runs in 44 innings with the top score of 135 and Sharma having scored 1280 runs with the top score of 188. They will look to give a fast start to the innings in the shortest format of the game. Mithali Raj, the 35-year-old icon in Indian women’s cricket is expected to bat at number 3. She will be eager to make an impression in probably her final T20 world cup. Veda Krishnamurthy is an attacking batswoman and her along with captain Kaur will be expected to add the finishing touches to the innings.


Mansi Joshi is the most experienced fast bowler in the side and will lead the bowling attack. She will have to nurture the young Pooja Vastrakar and Arundhati Reddy who have played less than 10 international matches each. Leg-spinner Poonam Yadav is the most experienced spin bowler in the side with 32-year-old left-arm spinner Ekta Bisht for company. Bisht will look to guide her understudy Radha Yadav who has a similar bowling style.


The Kiwi challenge

The top order of the Amy Satterthwaite led New Zealand side is one of the strongest going around in the women’s circuit. Suzie Bates will open the innings with Sophie Devine. Former captain Bates has played in 104 T20I matches scoring 2846 runs at an average of 30.27 while Devine has scored 1710 runs in 76 matches inclusive of a top score of 73. Captain Satterthwaite is now a 92 match veteran with close to 1798 runs to her credit. The middle-order will consist of right-hand bat Maddy Green, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, wicket-keeper batswoman Katie Martin and 28-year-old all-rounder Anna Peterson. Watch out for 18-year-old sensation Amelia Kerr who broke a 29-year-old ODI record by scoring 232 not out against South Africa. She is definitely a rising star in women’s cricket and at 17 years became the youngest in men’s and women’s cricket to score a double century in any format of the game.


Right-arm medium-fast bowler Lea Tahuhu will spearhead the bowling attack. He now has captured 36 wickets with best figures of 3 for 17. Hayley Jensen, Holly Huddleston, and Susie Bates are the other bowlers who can bowl some medium pace. Huddleston is quite experienced having captured 11 wickets in 13 T20I matches with best bowling figures of 2 for 7. 26-year-old Leigh Kasperek is the ace spinner in the team. She has captured 46 wickets with her off-spin and will look to form an off-spin bowling combination with Amelia Kerr.


Who will win?

We predict that New Zealand women’s cricket team would accustom to the conditions quicker and will defeat their opponents from India to record their 1st win of the tournament.

Match Info





Home Team:

New Zealand Women

Away Team:

India Women


Nov 9, 2018


15:00 GMT


Providence Stadium, Guyana, West Indies


Sign up to get emails with free betting tips!

Betway India Big Bash Image Banners

How to bet on Cricket

Betting reviews

Cricket Tips and Info

Recent Posts