ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Betting Prediction

ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Betting Prediction – The favorites, the underdogs and the ‘dark-horses’

The 6th edition of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 will be held in the West Indies from 9th to the 24th of November 2018. This is the 2nd time that this world tournament is hosted by the West Indies, after the 2010 edition. The 10 teams participating in the tournament will play 20 preliminary round matches, under 2 groups. The top two teams from each group will play 2 semi-finals followed by the finals scheduled for the 24th of November. The matches will be played across 3 main venues in the Caribbean; namely, the Providence Stadium in Guyana, Darren Sammy Cricket Ground in Saint Lucia and at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua. In this Betting Prediction, we will go over the main points on who you should place your bets at!


The tournament structure

8 teams automatically qualified for the tournament based on their pre-tournament rankings while Bangladesh and Ireland qualified by winning their respective semi-finals during the qualifier tournament held in the Netherlands. Group A consists of England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Bangladesh while Group B sees the Aussies going up against India, New Zealand, Pakistan and Ireland. Each team will meet the other 4 teams in the group once before the top two teams from each group move on to the next stage of the tournament. A win will carry 2 points while a ‘no result’ will carry 1 point.


A bit from the tournament history

The Australians have been the most successful team in this bi-annual tournament organized by the sport’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). They have emerged victorious on 3 occasions in 2010, 2012 and 2014 defending their title successfully twice. England won the tournament by defeating New Zealand in the inaugural tournament held in 2009 and have ended as the runners-up to Australia on 2 occasions. The West Indies women won the most recent tournament held in India in 2016 by defeating Australia by a margin of 8 wickets. The Windies women are the most improved team over the years and are emulating their male counterparts as one of the forces to be reckoned with in the shortest format of the game.


Some Betting Prediction Statistics

England has the highest win percentage in T20 world cup tournaments with a win percentage of 77.08%. Australia and New Zealand are a close 2nd with a win percentage of 75% each. India, West Indies, and South Africa have improved leaps and bounds over the past few years and the ladies from these countries will be quietly confident of making a major upset or two. The Aussies are ranked number 1 in the world with 141 ranking points while England is nr 2nd with 123 points. India with 119 points and New Zealand with 116 points are a close 3rd and 4th.

The English are the most successful team according to statistics from the beginning of 2016. They have won 17 out of the 24 T20 International matches played for a win percentage of 70.8. New Zealand has a win percentage of 68.96% having won 20 out of the 29 matches they have played during the same time period. Australia, the top-ranked team in the world has won 19 out of 30 matches while the defending champions West Indies have won 14 out of 23 T20I matches played. India and South Africa have made the most pronounced improvement during this time period. India has played 37 T20 matches winning 22 of those while the Protea women have won 12 of the 28 matches played.


The Favorites and the ‘Dark Horses’

Australians are miles ahead of the rest according to the current world-rankings while England are ahead in terms of team success. Australia has experience in winning a world tournament in the Caribbean islands and have tasted tournament success thrice. Hence, we at premium cricket name the ladies from Australia as the favorites to win the title for the 4th time in the history of the tournament. Archrivals England poses the biggest threat and they will be determined to take home the title for the 1st time. England who won the ICC champions trophy 50-over tournament last year by defeating India in the finals can be considered as the primary challengers to Australia’s quest for the title. A good betting prediction is to stick to one of the favorites based on statistics.

There are primarily four teams that can easily upset all speculation. They are New Zealand, South Africa, India and the hosts West Indies. They can topple any top team given their day. West Indies aptly showed this during the finals of the 2016 T20 world cup held in India by defeating Australia. New Zealand defeated South Africa by massive margins in the 50-over format of the game earlier this year and can be named as the front-runners in this regard. There is an exciting mix of young and experienced players in New Zealand’s ranks. India reached the finals of the 50-over Champions trophy tournament before losing out mainly due to the lack of experience in the lower order. Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur will be determined to rally their troupes to record a major women’s cricketing title. Finally, we expect the Windies to come out all guns blazing in an attempt to retain the title they won. Hence, the dark horses for this year definitely are India and the West Indies.


The Cricket Betting Prediction from Premium Cricket

The prediction on the tournament outcome based on our analysis is as follows. We bet that Australia will meet England in this year’s finals and then go on to beat England to record their 4th world T20 title.

Want to stay updated on the whole tournament? Visit our ICC Women’s World Twenty20 tournament page regulary and stay tuned!


Top Betting Sites


Not Rated

Not Rated

Not Rated
See More Betting Sites